top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReece Armstrong

Typical Wednesday Market Haul


Green beans, mozzarella di bufala, sopressata, salted whole anchovies, green oranges, and salted cod from the Wednesday market in Siena.

Every Tuesday night here in Siena is like Christmas Eve for me, because I am overwhelmed with excitement in anticipation for the Wednesday market in Siena! The market brings in vendors from all over Tuscany who source their food from the region. It is the best way to experience the flavors of Tuscany and bring them home with you as well. Every time I go, antipasto items are the first priority, because they sell out quick. This week I went with one of my all-time favorites, mozzarella di bufala, and sopressata. A lovely Sienese market-goer shopping at the same stand as I told me that the sopressata here was made from all the offal parts of the pig, which of course sold me on it. After watching Rick Stein rave about salt cod, I had my eye out for it. When I saw it, I experienced a childish amount of excitement. Childish in a good way, of course. I picked out a nice looking fillet, and knew exactly what I had to get next; anchovies. So, back to my apartment I went with my market haul, dreaming of all the possibilities of what I could make with my outstandingly cheap and satisfying purchases. But of course, not before I stopped to grab a porchetta sandwich for the walk home.

The man cutting the porchetta asked if I wanted, a lean, or a fattier portion. To which of course I responded, "Grosso, por favore!" (Fatty please!)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page